DictaWiz vs Willow Voice
Looking for a Willow Voice alternative that stays on your phone?
Willow Voice has an offline mode, and it also lists cloud dictation with strong security claims. DictaWiz keeps everything on the iPhone by default, so there is no separate mode to turn on.
Side by side
Pricing
DictaWizFree, or $69.99 once for Lifetime
Willow VoiceFree: an unlimited lighter model plus 20 Scribe uses a week. Pro is $15/month or $12/month billed yearly. Business is $35/$28. No lifetime option. Students, educators, nonprofits and veterans get discounts.
Offline / on-device
DictaWizYes, always, every feature
Willow VoiceThere is an offline mode that runs entirely on the device. Where standard dictation runs is not stated.
Data privacy
DictaWizZero data collection, no account required
Willow VoiceWillow claims SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, zero data retention and end-to-end encryption. Its homepage does not address model training.
Meeting & lecture transcripts
DictaWizSpeaker-labeled, auto-summarized, live
Willow VoiceNot found.
Study tools from recordings
DictaWizFlashcards, quiz, mind map
Willow VoiceNot mentioned on the vendor's site.
Platforms
DictaWizMac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch (Android in review)
Willow VoiceMac, Windows, iPhone
iPhone keyboard for any app
DictaWizYes, dictates in any app (needs Allow Full Access)
Willow VoiceYes, the iPhone app includes a keyboard.
Willow Voice figures verified 2026-10-26 from the sources below. Where a vendor page and a review disagree, the vendor page is used: Willow, Willow pricing, Digital Trends. Pricing and features change, check willowvoice.com for current terms.
What DictaWiz does that Willow Voice doesn't
On-device by default
There is no offline mode to switch on. Dictation and AI skills run on the iPhone, with no account.
Meetings and lectures
Speaker-labeled transcripts, summaries, flashcards, a quiz and a mind map from a recording.
Pay once, or don't pay at all
Core on-device features are free, and the introductory Lifetime unlock is one payment. Willow Voice has no lifetime option.
To be fair: if what you want is Willow Voice's specific strengths, a fast AI dictation app for Mac, Windows and iPhone that writes polished text. DictaWiz isn't trying to be a drop-in replacement for that, it's a different tool built around offline meetings, notes, and study material.
Willow Voice vs DictaWiz, common questions
- How much does Willow Voice cost?
- Free: an unlimited lighter model plus 20 Scribe uses a week. Pro is $15/month or $12/month billed yearly. Business is $35/$28. No lifetime option. Students, educators, nonprofits and veterans get discounts. (checked 2026-10-26, check willowvoice.com for current prices.)
- Does Willow Voice work offline?
- There is an offline mode that runs entirely on the device. Where standard dictation runs is not stated.
- Does Willow Voice have an iPhone keyboard?
- Yes, the iPhone app includes a keyboard.
- Is DictaWiz a good Willow Voice alternative?
- If you want dictation and notes that work with no internet connection and no data leaving your phone, yes. If you specifically need Willow Voice's own feature set, compare the table above first.
- Does DictaWiz really work with no internet at all?
- Yes. Dictation, AI Skills, meeting summaries, translation, flashcards: all of it runs locally. Cloud engines are available only if you add your own API key, and are never required.
- Is there a free plan?
- Yes. DictaWiz's on-device features are free with no time limit. The $69.99 introductory Lifetime unlock is optional, for cloud engines and extra integrations.